Create a Button Tree on a Canvas

I love buttons, I think every crafter loves buttons. I recently saw a few things on Pinterest that caught my eye and I decided to try it.

I started off by painting a canvas arrowhead grey (a Martha Stewart Paint color)

plaingrey

I then made a stencil out of paper of a plain tree. I wanted it to be kept pretty plain as the button’s were going to be the star.I placed it on the canvas in the appropriate spot

treestencil

I then used a dobber to paint the tree. The dobbers work the best because you aren’t brushing paint on. When you brush paint you tend to get it under all of open spaces.

paintedtree

Once its painted let it dry, roughly 30 minutes. You then want to heat up your glue gun and get your buttons out. If you don’t have a glue gun you can use a glue stick it will just take a lot longer to dry.

Proceed to glue all of your buttons around the branches, make it however you like. This is where you get to be creative!

finishedtree

We have a ton of buttons and canvases in the store. C’mon on in so we can see your beautiful faces and pick up some supplies!

Also if you complete this project we would love to see it! Send us an email of your picture to trish@comecraftwithme.com and we will put it up  on our site. Better yet ~ Stop on in and bring it with you!

 

Leave a Reply

